in

EMERGENCY CALL TO ACTION For #HR40 Reparations on February 17

The Fight For Reparative Justice Begins Now

#FIXHR40 CAMPAIGN

🕬 EMERGENCY CALL TO ACTION 

On Wednesday, February 17, 2021, at 10:00 am, The Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties is hosting a special hearing on H.R.40 on called,

 “H.R. 40: Exploring the Path to Reparative Justice in America” 

To ensure that the #FixHR40 Campaign concerns are heard and considered by legislators, we are demanding this special committee to: 1) invite Dr. William Darity to provide expert witness testimony and 2) commit to having Darity’s revisions addressed during the markup period of the bill.

We need your help to amplify our demands via direct emails, calls, and tweets to legislators on the committee. 

Please use the scripts and prompts below to take action! 

Key Legislators 

1. Name Number Email  Twitter 
2. Steve Cohen 

(D) TN-09 

(Chair)

(202) 225-3265(202) 225-5663

(DC)


(901) 544-4131

(TN) 

Steve.Cohen@mail.house.gov  @RepCohen
3. Jamie Raskin

(D) MD-08

(Vice-Chair)

202-225-5341

(DC)

301-354-1000

(MD)

Jamie.Raskin@mail.house.gov @RepRaskin
4. Eric Swalwell – (D)CA-15 (202) 225-5065

(DC)

510) 370-3322

(CA)

Eric.Swalwell@mail.house.gov  @RepSwalwell
5 Mary Gay Scanlon 

(D)PA-05

(202) 225-2011

(DC)

610-626-2020
(PA)

Marygay.Scanlon@mail.house.gov @RepMGS
6. Madeleine Dean 

(D)PA-04

202-225-4731

(DC)

215-884-4300
(PA)

Madeleine.Dean@mail.house.gov   @RepDean
7. Sylvia R. Garcia 

(D)TX-29

202-225-1688

(DC)

832-325-3150

(TX)

Sylvia.Garcia@mail.house.gov  @RepSylviaGarcia
8. Veronica Escobar

(D)TX-16

202-225-4831

(DC)

915-541-1400 (TX)

Veronica.Escobar@mail.house.gov  @RepEscobar
9. Sheila Jackson Lee

(D)TX-18

202-225-3816

(DC)

713-655-0050

(TX)

Sheila.Jackson.Lee@mail.house.gov  @JacksonLeeTX18
10. Mike Johnson

(R) LA-04

(Ranking Member)

202-225-2777

(DC)

318-840-0309

(LA)

Mike.Johnson@mail.house.gov  @RepMikeJohnson
11. Louie Gohmert

(R)TX-01

202-225-3035

(DC)


903-561-6349
(TX)

Louie.Gohmert@mail.house.gov  @replouiegohmert
12. Doug Collins

(R)GA-09

202-225-9893

(DC)

(770) 297-3388

(GA)

Doug.Collins@mail.house.gov @RepDougCollins
13 Guy Reschenthaler

(R)PA-14

(202) 225-2065

(DC)

(724) 219-4200 (PA)

Guy.Reschenthaler@mail.house.gov  @GReschenthaler
14. Ben Cline

(R)VA-06

202-225-5431 (DC) Ben.Cline@mail.house.gov  @RepBenCline
15. Kelly Armstrong

(R)ND-00

(202) 225-2611

(DC)

(701) 353-6665
(ND)

Kelly.Armstrong@mail.house.gov  @RepArmstrongND

 

Email Script 

[SUBJECT LINE] URGENT! HR40  – Expert Witness Testimony Request

Greetings Congressperson___________________,

I’m a part of a national coalition of reparations advocates concerned with the current version of H.R.40. 

I’m writing today to urge you to invite Dr. William Darity to provide expert witness testimony to the upcoming subcommittee hearing on H.R.40 on Wednesday, February 17, 2021. 

Dr. William Darity is an Economics Professor and Reparations Scholar at Duke University. Dr. Darity submitted written testimony at the H.R.40 hearing on June 19, 2019. 

Dr. Darity’s testimony should be prioritized because he is an American Slavery Descendant and the premiere expert on reparations. Dr. Darity dedicated 30 years to studying reparations and building up the case for reparations. 

Thank you for considering our request. I look forward to watching the H.R.40 Hearing on Wednesday, February 17th and I hope to see Dr. Darity testify along with other experts at this historical and monumental event. 

Sincerely, 

[YOUR NAME]

Call Script 

Greetings, 


I’m calling Congressperson_______________________, of the Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties with two requests: 

  1. I request that Dr. William Darity (Duke Professor and reparations scholar), is allowed to provide expert witness testimony during the upcoming subcommittee hearing on H.R.40 on Wednesday, February 17, 2021.
  2. Congressperson_______________________ should have received revisions for H.R. 40 via email from the Fix HR40 Campaign. We request that Congressperson _______________________ commit to bringing these revisions to the floor during markup of the bill. 

  

Who can I talk to about these requests? Who in this office is directly responsible for relations with the  Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties?

Thank you for considering my request. Enjoy your day. 

Social Media Prompts

Social Media 

Amplify our demands by using the hashtags below on social media and by following and retweeting content from our social media leads

Social Media Leads

#FixHR40 Campaign – @FixHr40

National Hashtags 

#FixHR40

#HR40Hearing

#ListenToSlaveryDescendants

#BADOCS

General Contact Info

For more information, visit: https://fixhr40.org/
Please direct all media and questions related to the #FixHR40 Campaign to: Chris Lodgson #FixHR40 Campaign Lead Email: fixhr40@gmail.com

 

Raskin Was Right When He Said Trump's Actions Were Worse Than Yelling "Fire!" 14

Raskin Was Right When He Said Trump’s Actions Were Worse Than Yelling “Fire!”

Iowa Bills Would Ban Teachers From Talking About Trans Issues 15

Iowa Bills Would Ban Teachers From Talking About Trans Issues